QuestBridge Monthly Theme: Transition

It’s been exactly a year since I first got on a plane to New York City with absolutely no idea what the future would look like. August 30, 2015 is a day I will never forget – not only because it marked the beginning of my life as a college student, but also because it signaled a brand new period in my life.

The transition from high school to college wasn’t easy – there was a lot of changes in a very short amount of time, but it’s nothing I, looking back, would ever change. Columbia University is one of those places that welcomes you with open arms amongst the chanting of “Roar, Lion, Roar!” And my time as a lion has been everything.

To the new students, just embarking on this journey, know this: It will not be easy by any stretch of the imagination, and you will miss home. But, Columbia will become your home. And it’ll be worth it.

To the incoming QuestBridge scholars: May this year bring you many new successes. Please reach out to me, through any medium, if you need any help or just someone to show you the best Colombian coffee in the city for late night study sessions (it’s a quick trip downtown!). Being a QuestBridge scholar changed my life, as I have no doubt it will change yours. It’s helped me make friends and attain a deep understanding of how Columbia works. And it’s also helped me realized that I can do anything I set my mind to, if I’m willing to work for it.

4 Days until Move-In!

(And Sophomore Year, Bring it!)

– Alejandra

Leave a Reply

